jump to navigation

Swing Plane in the Membrane July 12, 2006

Posted by golfbattles in Range sessions.
trackback

Swing Plane in the Brain!

Since the day of Doom things have been steadily getting better. I had some problems during the last battle, but I now put that mainly down to the grip (which I intend to write about soon).

So, in my last range session I had generally good results. BUT…on examining the video I see a horrible swing plane problem creeping in. Check it!

Lee Westwood’s Swing Plane

MY Swing Plane

The backswing is fine, but from the top down I’m all over the shop. To examine in further detail:

Monsieur Westy

Westwood swing breakdown

Moi

Leon swing breakdown

You’ll need to click on the images to see a larger version.

I have marked in frames 2 and 4 lines in the direction of the swing plane going up and coming down. You’ll see that Westwood’s downswing plane is actually lower than his backswing plane.

Now, in my image I have kept the exact same lines from Westwood. Frame 2 I’m pretty much the same as him. And then….FRAME 4… WTF AM I DOING?!! I’ve gone waaay out. And then I pull…way back in again in order to hit the ball straight (the ball did go straight…).

Also notice that I’ve put in a green horizontal line at the staring position of our heads. Westwood doesn’t bring his head back above that line until the final frame. I do so in frame 6.

So, lots to learn from this. Next range sesh I’ll be working on that swing plane.

Comments»

1. brad - January 21, 2007

Dude westwood has a one plane swing, you have a two. you need to find a two plane swinger to look at.

2. Mike - November 25, 2008

what r u drawing those lines for?
they represent nothing!!!!!!!!!!
they r not ur swing plane bud.
Frame 1+2 ok
in 3 you compleat a massive lift… u should turn on from 2 not lift keep your right elbow closer to ur body and get professional help


Leave a Reply

